So we take my Mother to get her groceries on Saturday morning and I noted a new fast food joint that was opening soon across the parking lot. A quick search revealed that Boardwalks Fries, Burger and Shakes offered a couple of veggie burgers (which I assumed would be veganizable in some way). So when it opened, we decided to give it a try.
Boardwalk Fries Burgers Shakes - Vegan Options
Boardwalk's website provides no ingredient lists, nor do they have a head office phone number, nor do they answer emails sent to them from their "Contact us" page. To find out if what we were eating was vegan for sure, I resorted to messaging them on Instagram where I got very confused responses. I also phoned some of their Ontario stores thinking that since they had been around longer, they might have a bit better grasp on ingredients, than the local folks. Here is what I think that I know:
We ordered a Beyond Meat Burger and Sweet Potato Fries. We asked for them to hold the mayo and so the bun came with nothing on it. Our fries came with ketchup so we used a little bit of that. The bun wasn't bad and I am pretty sure it is vegan given a conversation that I had with a staffer in Hamilton, Ontario who seemed to know her stuff. They also did a pretty good job of grilling the patty which had just a bit of char to make it tasty. The sp fries were amazing and I would return just for them! Why can't I do that at home?
We also ordered the Organic Veggie Burger and Onion Rings. Right up front, I will tell you that the O-rings are not vegan and I know that I will burn in hell but I will also admit that they were really good. The burger required the same drill; no mayo so we used a little ketchup. They could figure out something to put on the bun in the back but whatever. This was a very good patty. Some rice maybe, veggies and I'm not sure what else but again very nicely grilled.
So while I appreciate that they had not one but 2 veggie options, I feel like the company as a whole could do a little more to court vegans. Even MacDonalds gives access to ingredients on their website and by the way, their sesame seed bun does not contain animal products (unfortunately almost everything else on the menu does). The confusion of my Insta communication seems to indicate that even employees don't know what's in the product. What about people with allergies including lactose intolerance? What do they do? These were nice folks and what we did try, we kind of enjoyed but....do we really need more burger places?
Food 3 out of 5
Vegan Options 2 1/2 out of 5
Comfort 3 1/2 out of 5
Service 3 1/2 out of 5
Value 3 out of 5
Are you guys eating again? At some point Marie and I became the kind of people who take pictures of everything we eat, whether in a restaura...
The Keg? A palace of beef is no place for a vegan, or so I would have thought. My Mother, while sorting through some stuff, found a couple o...
Henderson Place Mall lives in the shadow of the much larger Coquitlam Centre Mall across the street. We visited on a dreary Saturday and whi...
I am more than a little excited about Sweet Revenge Bakery! The only downside is that tasty and calorie-rich wonderful pastries that are pla...